top of page

Meet the authors


Femi Fadugba

Femi Fadugba is a British-Nigerian writer and mathematician. He was born in London in 1992 and grew up in Lagos, Nigeria, before returning to the UK to study at the University of Oxford. Fadugba's writing explores the intersection of science and culture, with a focus on the impact of technology on society. His work has been published in Granta, The New York Times, and The Guardian. In 2018, Fadugba received the Commonwealth Short Story Prize for his story "The Interpreters," which tells the story of a group of language experts tasked with deciphering an alien message.

Naomi Alderman

Naomi Alderman is a British author and game designer. Born in London, England, Alderman studied at the University of Oxford and later received a Master's degree in creative writing from the University of East Anglia. Her debut novel, "Disobedience," was published in 2006 and was later adapted into a film. Alderman's other works include "The Power," a speculative fiction novel that won the 2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, and "The Liar's Gospel," a historical novel set in ancient Israel. Alderman is also a prominent game designer and co-creator of the popular fitness app "Zombies, Run!" Her writing is known for its exploration of themes such as power, gender, and religion.

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan CBE is a British novelist and screenwriter, listed among “The 50 greatest British writers since 1945” by The Times. His novels and short stories, known for their exploration of complex human relationships and moral dilemmas, have received the Man Booker Prize, the 2011 Jerusalem Prize, and the 2011 Jerusalem Prize. Many of his novels have been adapted for the screen, including the Oscar-winning Atonement. He was born in Aldershot, England.

Jeanette Winterson

Jeanette Winterson is a British author known for her innovative and experimental approach to storytelling. Adopted into a working-class family in Manchester, England, Winterson gained widespread recognition with her first novel, "Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit" in 1985, which was based on her own experiences growing up in a Pentecostal community. Since then, Winterson’s published novels include "The Passion," "Written on the Body," and "Frankissstein," as well as collections of short stories and essays. Her writing is characterised by its exploration of sexuality, gender, and identity. Winterson has received the Whitbread Prize for Best First Novel and the Lambda Literary Award.

bottom of page